Thunder Road Speedbowl

/event/Thunder Road Speedbowl

/event/Thunder Road Speedbowl

About Thunder Road Speedbowl

Thunder Road International Speedbowl in Barre, VT is a ¼-mile oval stock car racing track. Built in 1960, Thunder Road has become famous for its high-banked corners and the turn four wall known as “The Widowmaker.”

The doors opened in June 1960 with the headlining Flathead Coupe division. Drivers like Chet Wood, the Ingerson brothers, Ronnie Marvin, Norm Chaloux, Johnny Gammell, Harold Hanaford, and Roy Forsythe among others became local legends as they tackled the high banks every Thursday night.

Over the past 62 years, the divisions have changed, from Coupes to Modifieds, Flying Tigers, Hurricanes, and the ever-evolving Late Models. And the names have changed; Ronnie Barcomb, Lennie Stockwell, Dave Dion, Joey Kourafas, Jean-Paul Cabana, the Dragon brothers, Stub Fadden, Robbie Crouch, Chuck Bown, Brent Dragon, “Burger” Blake, Dwayne Lanphear, Joey Laquerre, Phil Scott, Chuck Beede, Jean-Paul Cyr, Eric Williams, Cris Michaud, Dave Pembroke, Nick Sweet, and many others. But while there have been many changes, the exciting atmosphere at Thunder Road on Thursday nights remains.